Vote For The BlueStreak-Ruden Report Spring Male Player Of The Year


TRR-Player-of-the-Year_Spring_500pixelsWAfter a long list of memorable accomplishments over the past two months, it is time for you to decide who was the very best of the best. We have selected six outstanding finalists for our BlueStreak-Ruden Report FCIAC Spring Male Player of the Year award.

The winner will receive a custom-made long-sleeve T shirt with name and uniform number on the back.

Here are the finalists, who were all named to the All-FCIAC and All-State teams, and their accomplishments (based on information submitted by coaches who responded).

Peter Dearth, Ridgefield Lacrosse: Dearth was one of the state’s top scorers.

Mark Evanchick, Darien Lacrosse: Evanchick, the defending state Player of the Year, was again the top defender who shut down every opponent’s top scoring threat.

Reece Maniscalco, Fairfield Warde: Maniscalco had an 8-1 record with a 1.85 earned run average, with 78 strikeouts and just 22 hits allowed in 53 innings, and batted .335 with two home runs and 28 RBIs.

Will Perry, Greenwich Lacrosse: Perry, one of the state’s top midfielders, finished with 52 goals and 31 assists.

Kyle Smith, New Canaan Lacrosse: Smith, one of the state’s top midfielders, finished with 41 goals and 25 assists.

Eric van der Els, Brien McMahon Track: van der Els won the 1,600 and 3,200 in the FCIAC championships and the 1,600 in both the Class LL and State Open meets in record times. van der Els also won 3,000 at the Penn Relays.

Those are the six finalists. You have until noon on Wednesday to select the BlueStreak-Ruden Report FCIAC Spring Male Player of the Year.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.