Girls Lacrosse: Darien Has 9 Players, New Canaan 7 Named To All-FCIAC Team

Goalie Sammy Nielsen was one of eight Darien players named to the All-FCIAC girls lacrosse team.

Goalie Sammy Nielsen was one of eight Darien players named to the All-FCIAC girls lacrosse team.

League champion and Class L finalist Darien led the All-FCIAC girls lacrosse voting with nine players selected to the first team: Mariah Matheis and Anna Moorhead on attack; Katie Cronin, Chandler Kirby and Laura Murphy at midfield; Julia Arrix, Elizabeth Fucigna and Daphne Budd on defense; and Sammy Nielsen in goal.

New Canaan, which lost to Darien in triple overtime for the conference title and is in the Class M championship, was next with seven players represented: Catherine Granitio and Isabel Taben on attack, Elizabeth Miller and Sami Stewart at midfield, Emily DeTour and Matty Novick on defense and Bailey Pilder in goal.

Wilton had five players and Greenwich three honored.



Mariah Matheis, Darien

Anne Dunster, Greenwich

Anna Moorhead, Darien

Maddy Graves, Greenwich

Sara Dickinson, Wilton

Catherine Granito, New Canaan

Paige Murray, Staples

Isabel Taben, New Canaan


Makenna Pearsall, Wilton

Katie Cronin, Darien

Elizabeth Miller, New Canaan

Chandler Kirby , Darien

Laine Parsons, Wilton

Samantha Stewart, New Canaan

Laura Murphy, Darien

Jenna McNicholas, Staples


Natalie Paletta, Greenwich

Julia Arrix, Darien

Cecily Freliech, Wilton

Emily DeTour, New Canaan

Elizabeth Fucigna, Darien

Casey Tucker, Wilton

Daphne Budd, Darien

Matty Novick, New Canaan


Samantha Nielsen, Darien

Bailey Pilder, New Canaan




Katie DeMarino, New Canaan

Megan Collins, Greenwich

Kaeleigh Morrill, Darien

Gabby Noto, Darien


Regan Steed, Fairfield Ludlowe

Miranda Rosenfeld, Fairfield Ludlowe

Meredith Nerreau, Fairfield Warde

Emily DeMaso, Fairfield Ludlowe

Kimmy Weinstock, Ridgefield

Bianca Melillo, Danbury

Caroline Ryan, Stamford

Danielle Reisert, Danbury


Amelia Heisler, Staples

Kelly Milicia, Fairfield Warde

Caitlin Brady, Greenwich

Sloan Caan, Greenwich


Emma Boland, Staples

Maddie Burns, Ridgefield


Darien – Lilly Gregory, Caroline Benitez

Greenwich – Paige Mautner, Romy Villemure

Ridgefield – Sarah Kaiser, Ally Myers

Fairfield Ludlowe – Meghan Donahue, Grace Flink

New Canaan – Kylie Murphy, Campbell Armstrong

Stamford – Jenn Krupa, Kaitlyn Hutter

Wilton – Rebecca Wistreich, Melissa Boehme

Danbury – Laurie Stark, Holly Rivers

Staples – Colleen Bannon, Georgia Nicklin

Brien McMahon – Maddy Vineyard

Fairfield Warde – Amanda Orvis, Courtney Scheetz