Boys Basketball

The Ruden Report All-FCIAC Boys Basketball Teams

Trying to pick three different pools of five players for my annual All-Ruden Report boys basketball teams was more difficult than ever before, so I have no doubt there will be many arguments. And the lines are so blurred in some cases your point might be as good as mine.

I was prepared to take the easy way out and have one team, then decided I can take the heat. The hardest time I had was between two players for the second and third teams.

So I made a list of the players I thought deserved consideration and when it came to 16 I put the puzzle together.

Player and Coach of the Year were easy. McGarrity was the quarterback and McClellan the architect of the best team in the FCIAC.

Coaches opted to put Malcolm Newman and Alex Gibbens on their third teams for time missed due, respectively, to transfer rules and injuries. And in a year with more outstanding individuals I might have considered it.

But one constant with my first team: each player made their teams better. The Rams were 9-3 with Gibbens and 3-5 without him. Trinity has more holes to exploit without Newman.

And it was hard leaving Knachel off the first team; he was outstanding in every game I saw the Tigers play.


As for the state playoffs, which start today, I think the FCIAC is in for a fall. I can’t see anyone in Division I reaching the semifinals. Maybe Ridgefield with a different draw, but not against East Catholic. Maybe Trinity Catholic with an A game, but not after the way it played during the league playoffs.

Staples could win a couple of games in Division II. If there is one team I could see getting to the Final Four, and maybe even reach the final, it is Fairfield Ludlowe in Division III. I’ll take John Dailey as my coach in a big game. And the Falcons have the talent.

Ludlowe is the one team that can send me to Mohegan Sun, probably against Northwest Catholic.

First Team

  • Alex Gibbens, New Canaan
  • Kyle Hyzy, Wilton
  • Luke McGarrity, Ridgefield
  • Malcolm Newman, Trinity Catholic
  • Jake Thaw, Staples

Second Team

  • Lucas Basich, Staples
  • James Bourque, Fairfield Ludlowe
  • Paul Fabbri, St. Joseph
  • Rashen Fisher, Trinity Catholic
  • Chris Knachel, Ridgefield

Third Team

  • Jaden Bell, Stamford
  • Ian Bentley, Fairfield Ludlowe
  • Justyn Davis, Fairfield Warde
  • Brendan McMahon, Fairfield Warde
  • Eric Miller, Brien McMahon
  • Andrew Smith, Wilton

Player of the Year

  • Luke McGarrity, Ridgefield

Coach of the Year

  • Andrew McClellan, Ridgefield

If you liked this story and would like to see more like it consider donating today!