High School Sports

Thirty-Four FCIAC Athletes To Be Honored By CIAC Sunday For Academic Success

Thirty-four athletes from the FCIAC’s 17 schools will be among the 358 that will be recognized in a CAS-CIAC Virtual Scholar-Athlete Banquet airing at 6:30 p.m. Sunday, on Fox61 and GameTimeCT.com. The 30-minute special will honor the Scholar Athletes selected by 182 schools for their achievements in athletics and the classroom.

The program will feature many elements of the annual Scholar Athlete Banquet, with some new additions for the virtual program.

The event will feature recognition of each Scholar Athlete; remarks from keynote speaker Anna Mahon, a former Olympian and current principal of Amity Regional High School; retired ESPN radio personality Bob Picozzi, as host of the event for the 33rd time in 36 years; a profile of Haley Lespier from Maloney High School, the 2020 Michael H. Savage Spirit of Sport Award winner; brief features on a pair of compelling scholar-athlete stories; congratulatory messages from noteworthy Connecticut sports figures; and more. The event is possible thanks to CIAC partners IGA, the CT Department of Public Health, the Connecticut Army National Guard, and Liberty Bank.

The Scholar-Athlete Program annually recognizes two high school seniors from each member high school whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary, whose personal standards and achievements are a model to others, and who possess high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage. It is one of the longest running CAS-CIAC events, honoring standout senior student athletes every year since 1984, but could not be held in person this year due to COVID-19 concerns.

Here is a list of the FCIAC athletes that will be honored.

Bridgeport CentralTessiny ColonAlex Guzman
DanburyChristine SangphetAidan Coleman
DarienSophia TalwalkarNicholas Derby
Fairfield LudloweHannah JohanssonJames Flink
Fairfield WardeClaire CherniskeGregory Vogt
GreenwichKathleen PiotrzkowskiJustin Speaker
Brien McMahonAlexandra MillsPatrick Coulter
New CanaanRianna AfsharChristopher Carratu
NorwalkJulia DufortAlex Francoeur
RidgefieldEmma LangisSimon Jupp
St. JosephGabriella GattoLouis Tuccio
StamfordHannah BushellMax Meister
StaplesArianna GerigA.J. Konstanty
Trinity CatholicSophie ThompsonPatrick Carlon
TrumbullJaime TolkCyrus Asgari
WesthillBetsy SachsAlex Edwards
WiltonPaula Perez PelaezAndrew Smith