Vote For The BlueStreak-Ruden Report Winter Female Player Of The Year


After a long list of memorable accomplishments over the past three months, it is time for you to decide who was the very best of the best. We have selected seven outstanding finalists for our BlueStreak-Ruden Report FCIAC Winter Female Player of the Year award.

The winner will receive a trophy from BlueStreak Sports Training and hats and shirts from The Ruden Report.

Here are the finalists, who were all named to the All-FCIAC and All-State teams, and their accomplishments (based on information submitted by coaches).

Sarah Cicchetti, Greenwich Track: Cicchetti was the FCIAC, Class LL, State Open and New England champion in the shotput.

Erin Cunningham, Wilton Basketball: Cunningham averaged 16.4 points, 8 rebounds and made 43 percent of her 3-point shots in becoming the school’s all time scoring leader, male or female. Cunningham finished with 33 points and 19 rebounds in the final as Wilton won its first state championship.

Hannah DeBalsi, Staples Track: DeBalsi won the 1,000, 1,600 and 3,200 at the FCIAC championships, the 1,600 and 3,200 at the Class LL meet, set the state record in the 3,200 at the State Open and won the 2-mile at the New England championships.

Tiana England, Stamford Basketball: England averaged a league-high 18.9 points, 5.2 assists and 4.1 steals, and became the first junior in school history to reach 1,000 points.


Catherine Granito, New Canaan Hockey: Granito finished with 33 goals and 17 assists and passed the 100-goal mark as a junior.

Rebecca Lawrence, Ridgefield Basketball: Lawrence averaged 15 points, 10 rebounds and 5 blocks and was the most valuable player as Ridgefield won its first FCIAC championship in 19 years.

Anna Sulger, Darien Track: Sulger set league records in the 300 and 600 at the FCIAC championships and won the 600 at the State Open and placed second in the 300.

Those are the seven finalists. You have until noon on Wednesday to select the 2015 BlueStreak-Ruden Report FCIAC Winter Female Player of the Year.