Boys Lacrosse

Darien CHSCA Boys Lacrosse Team Of Year; Wilton’s Calabrese Player Of Year

Darien, which won the Class L title Saturday with a 13-3 win over Wilton, was selected the Connecticut High School Coaches Association Boys Lacrosse Team of the Year.

The Warriors swept a number of awards. Goaltender Andrew Calabrese was named the Player of the Year and Steve Pearsall the Class L Coach of the Year. In addition, John Wiseman was selected as the Assistant Coach of the Year.

There were 13 FCIAC players named to the Class L All-State team: Attack — Hudson Pokorny, Darien; Jack Feda, Greenwich; Henri Pfeifle, Darien; Midfield — Jackson Peters, Darien; Quintin O’Connell, New Canaan, Wes Carpenter, Ridgefield; Defense — Ryan Schriber, Wilton; Tyler Strub, Darien; George Dumbuld, New Canaan; Goaltender — Andrew Calabrese, Wilton; LSDM — Blake Cellar, Darien; SSDM — Bruce Ferguson, Darien; FOGO — Tim Norton, New Canaan.

Second team: Michael Minicus, Darien; Liam Griffiths, New Canaan; Ray Dearth, Ridgefield; Chris Canet, New Canaan; Tommy Hellman, Darien; Blake Runkle, Staples; Tyler Previte, Wilton; Walker Ker, New Canaan; James Isaacson, Ridgefield; Matt Freeman, Darien.


Two players from St. Joseph were named to the Class S All-State team: Preston Kral at midfield and Phil Pasmeg on attack. Declan McGinley and Kyle Burbank were named to the second team.

Seven players were named All-American: Calabrese, Feda, O’Connell, Peters, Pokorny, Schriber and Strub.