Vote For The Ruden Report Spring Male & Female Players Of The Year

After a long list of memorable accomplishments over the past two months, it is time for you to decide who was the very best of the best. We have selected six outstanding male and eight female finalists for the Ruden Report-Fairfield County Bank Spring Male and Female Player of the Year awards.

The winners will receive a custom-made long-sleeve T shirt with name and uniform number on the back.

The vote ends at 10 pm on Thursday.

Here are the finalists, who were all named to the All-FCIAC and All-State teams, and their accomplishments (based on information submitted by coaches).

Male Finalists

Andrew Calabrese, Wilton Lacrosse. Calabrese had a 7.2 goals against average in net, with a .57 save rate. He finished with 200 saves.

Justin Forde, Brien McMahon Track. Forde won the triple jump and long jump and finished second in the high jump at the FCIAC, Class LL and State Open championships.

Tyler Herget, Darien Volleyball. Herget finished with 155 aces, 301 service points, 356 kills, 213 digs and 25 blocks.

Chad Knight, Staples Baseball. Knight was named the FCIAC and Gatorade State Player of the Year. He batted .486, with 12 home runs, 27 RBIs, 43 runs, 31 walks and was 18 for 18 on stolen bases. He had a 9-0 record with a 0.83 ERA.

Quintin O’Connell, New Canaan Lacrosse. The New Canaan boys lacrosse team does not keep track of statistics.

Ryan Raybuck, Greenwich Track. Raybuck won the 100, 200 and was part of the winning 4×100 relay team at the FCIAC championships and won the 100 and was part of the winning 4×100 relay team at the State Open.


The eight female finalists are:

Jane Charlton, New Canaan Lacrosse. Charlton finished with 33 goals, 19 assists, 25 draw controls, 33 caused turnovers and 23 ground balls.

Alyssa DiMaio, Staples Tennis. DiMaio completed an undefeated season by winning the State Open championship.

Payton Doiron, St. Joseph Softball. Doiron finished with a 21-1 record — 18-0 in the FCIAC — with a 0.81 ERA, 207 strikeouts, nine shutouts and one perfect game.

Sarah Jaques, Darien Lacrosse. Jaques finished with 84 goals, 30 assists, 50 draw controls and 26 ground balls.

Emma Langis, Ridgefield Track. Langis won the 300-meter hurdle title at the FCIAC, Class LL, State Open and New England championships.

Sydney Nethercott, Greenwich Golf. Nethercott was the FCIAC and State Player of the Year. She was the outright medalist 14 times and co-medalist once in 15 matches.

Alanna Smith, Danbury Track. Smith was FCIAC and Class LL champion in the 100, 200 and 400; the State Open champion in the 400 and New England champion in the 400. She finished third in New England in the 200.

Tess Stapleton, Fairfield Ludlowe Track. Stapleton won the 100 hurdles at the FCIAC, Class LL and State Open championships and was second at the New England meet. Stapleton won the long jump at the State Open and was second at the FCIAC and Class LL meets.