Greenwich Football Team, Forde, Melzer Among Sports Persons Of The Year

The Fairfield County Sports Commission last week announced its 2019 Sports Persons of the Year in each of the 16 communities the Commission directly serves. The local sports honorees will be recognized at the 15th anniversary Sports Night awards dinner, Monday, Oct. 21, at the Stamford Marriott at 6 p.m.

In each of the 16 towns, a committee headed by a local town representative of the Commission selected a Sports Person of the Year. Each winner was deemed to have had the most positive impact in their sports community from Aug. 2018-Aug. 2019.

The Sports Persons of the Year are:

BRIDGEPORT: Sal Hanaif, Bassick High boys’ soccer coach.

DARIEN: Darien Little League All-Stars, District 1 champions.

EASTON: Joel Barlow High girls’ volleyball team, Class L state champion.

FAIRFIELD: Kristen Santos, U.S. National Champion Short Track speed skater.

GREENWICH: Greenwich High football team, undefeated state and FCIAC champion.

MONROE: Samantha Schiebe, Masuk High girls’ softball team.

NEW CANAAN: Danny Melzer, New Canaan High boys’ basketball coach, state D4 champion.

NEWTOWN: Todd Petersen, Newtown High baseball/basketball standout.

NORWALK: Justin Forde, McMahon High, triple/long jumper, Gatorade CT Track Athlete of Year.

SHELTON: Matt Batten, Triple-A pro baseball player.

STAMFORD: Trinity Catholic High girls’ basketball team, Class S state champion.

STRATFORD: Alyssa Naeher, U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team goalie, World Cup champion.

TRUMBULL: Andrew Ilie, Trumbull High tennis player, Class LL & State Open champion.

WESTON: Rich Fanning, Weston High boys’ and girls’ ski teams coach.

WESTPORT: Staples High boys’ and girls’ tennis teams, both state champions.

WILTON: Wilton High boys’ lacrosse team, FCIAC & Class L state runners-up.

For more information concerning tickets and sponsorship opportunities for Sports Night, visit or call Tom Chiappetta at 203-984-4806.